About Indian Association of Biomedical Scientists (IABMS)

            Indian Association of Biomedical Scientists (IABMS) was formed in the year 1979, with Head Office at Dr. A.L.M. Postgraduate Institute of Basic Medical Sciences, University of Madras, Taramani Campus, Chennai. The acclaimed neurosurgeon, Prof. Dr. B. Ramamurthy was the first President, and Prof. Dr. S. Sarada Subramanyam, a renowned Physiologist was the first General Secretary of IABMS. IABMS is a pan-Indian organization and has grown enormously in the last four decades. Though IABMS had started with a modest bunch of individuals in 1979, presently the number of life members of IABMS is more than 1500.
The chief goal of IABMS is to support, advance, and progress interdisciplinary co-operation amongst biomedical researchers. The objectives of IABMS is to energize and advance between disciplinary collaboration amongst biomedical researchers having a place with various orders for the development of instructing, examination, and advancement of learning of all branches of life science with exceptional reference to its application in the field of medicine, dentistry, veterinary science, farming, and related designing sciences.
             The exercises of IABMS in satisfying the above goals incorporate innovative work in all parts of biomedical writing, distribution of authority diary, pamphlet, setting up of consultative bodies, arranging symposia, workshops, gatherings, and proceeding with instruction programs like CME and visitor addresses for improvement of science and innovation. IABMS organizes its Annual Conference every year, usually during the period of October-November to promote the discussion on advances in biomedical research, and a pre-conference Dr. Sarda Subramniam Workshop is conducted to impart hands-on training on various latest methodologies in biomedical research.
               IABMS has an official organ of publication of scientific papers related to biomedical research and the title of the journal is ‘BIOMEDICINE’. Prof. Dr. K. Madhavan Kutty was the first Editor-in-Chief, and Prof. Manjula Shantaram is the current Editor-in-Chief.
Legacy of the doyens of IABMS has been carried forward by acclaimed scientists like Dr. C. R. Krishnamurthy, Dr. A. Krishnamurthi, Dr. B. S. Gajalakshmi, Dr. S. Subramanian, Dr. K. Madhavan Kutty, Dr. Leela Krishnamuti, Dr. A. Namasivayam, Dr. M. S.Krishnamurthy, Dr. S. P. Thyagarajan, Dr. G. Rajagopal, Dr. S. Venkataraman, Dr. S. Rajarajan, Dr. D. Sakthisekaran, Dr. A. K. Singh, Dr. G. Victor Rajamanickam, Dr. Thirunalasundari served as the presidents of IABMS. This association has grown to the current stature with the dynamic and untiring support of the office bearers and life members who have contributed significantly to the field of biomedical sciences. Currently, the legacy of IABMS continues under the dynamic leadership of Dr. G. K. Pal as the President and Dr. E. Padmini as General Secretary.


Office Bearers, 2018-2021

Office Address: Block 3, F-20, Triveni Apartments

M/S Arun Excello Foundation, Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu-603104


Indian Association of Biomedical Scientists Office Bearers, 2018-2021


Dr. G. K. Pal, Puducherry


Immediate Past President

Dr. T. Thirunalasundari, Tiruchirappalli


General Secretary

Dr. E. Padmini, Chennai.



Dr. V. Hemamalini, Chennai.


Vice Presidents

Dr. Subrata Ghosh, West Bengal.

Dr. C. S. Gautham, Chandigarh.

Dr. V. R. Bhagwat, Maharashtra.



Dr. Manjula Shantaram, Kodagu.


Joint Secretary

Dr. P. Shanmugasundaram, Chennai.


Members of Executive Committee

Dr. M. A. Hussain, Chennai.

Dr. Devashish Sen, West Bengal

Dr. G. Mathan, Tiruchirappalli

Dr. D. Ezhilarasan, Chennai

Dr. MausumiSikdar, Kolkata

Dr. Zunjarrao Ganpat Badade, Maharashtra

Dr. Gurjit Kaur, Chandigarh

Dr. M. Vijay Aanandhi, Chennai

Dr. K. Premkumar, Tiruchirappalli

Dr. R. Venugopal, Wayanad